Category Archives: Uncategorized

ENA Board Meeting, Thursday, Feb. 15th, 7-9 PM, Reed College, Vollum Hall, Rm. 110 (lower level)

AGENDA (click here for PDF)

6:55     Sign-in (5 minutes)

7:00     Introductions, name cards (5 minutes)

7:05     Approval of the agenda (2 minutes)

7:07     Review and approve minutes for January– George Bengston (3 minutes)
            Treasurer’s Report- Heidi Levy

7:10     Multnomah Sugary Drinks Tax Initiative– Dante Haruna (10 minutes)

7:20     Environmental Report, Air Quality and DEQ –Clark Nelson (5 min)

7:25     Aging In Place – information – (7minutes)

7:32     Foster Kids Fundraiser – information – (6 minutes)

7:38     Woodstock and Sellwood Community Center Closures – Karen Williams (7 minutes)

7:45     Bylaws Task Force- a progress update (10 minutes)

8:00     Committee Reports  

  • Communications Committee: Proposed Policy Updates; Kristiana Nelson/Amy Light/Andy Payne (10 minutes)
  • Land Use Committee: Land Use, HD Update; Rod Merrick (10 minutes)
  • Reed College Place Committee – Contract renewal, tree maintenance, cost distribution; Clark Nelson/Robert McCullough (5 minutes)
  • Tree Committee – Planting, pruning plan; Tim Moore/ Catherine Mushel (5 minutes)
  • Schools Committee – Duniway Update; Kristiana Nelson (5 minutes)
  • Transportation- Request PBOT to change initial leaf sweep To October 30 from November 16, Fred Nolke/Kurt Krause (5 minutes)
  • SEUL LUT– Report; Lila Brightbill (5 minutes)
  • SEUL Board Report- Robert McCullough (5 minutes).

8:55     Wrap up and Comments

2017/2018 Eastmoreland Neighborhood Association Officers Elected

The ENA board elected the following board members to be officers of the Association for 2017/2018:

Rod Merrick, President
Kristiana Nelson, Vice President
George Bengtson, Secretary
Heidi Levy, Treasurer

Board members for 2017/2018 also include:

George Beard
Lila Brightbill
David Dowell
Joe Dudman
Tom Hubka
Carol Klingensmith
Kurt Krause
Peter Lamb
Teresa Langdon
Amy Light
Loren Lutzenhiser
Meg Merrick
Tim Moore
Clark Nelson
Fred Nolke
Andy Payne
Alison Starkey

ENA 2017/2018 Board Election Results Are In!

In a record-breaking turnout, nine new members have been elected to the ENA Board. They are:

George Beard (547 votes)
David Dowell (539 votes)
Kristiana Nelson (535 votes)
Kurt Krause (533 votes)
Peter Lamb (526 votes)
Lila Brightbill (519 votes)
Joe Dudman (515 votes)
Amy Light (508 votes)
Andy Payne (429 votes)

Click here for the complete results.

There will be a Special Meeting of the ENA Board to elect officers on June 1st, 7PM, Duniway School Library.

ENA Board Votes to Proceed with the Historic District Nomination

On Thursday night, March 16th, the ENA board, with all 19 members in attendance, voted to proceed with the Historic District nomination for Eastmoreland. The vote breakdown was as follows:

Yes: 13
No: 3
Abstain: 3

The neighborhood poll on the Historic District was a non-binding advisory poll. It was not a vote. The content, structure, and language of the poll was hotly contested up until the day, and even after, it was sent to the printer. While there were board members who spoke on behalf of “the board” before the outcome was known, there were many members who never publicly stated how they would ultimately regard the results. The poll was only one of many factors that board members took into account.

The Spring edition of the ENA Newsletter will include a summary from each board member of the rationale for their decision. The newsletter should be mailed to every resident in mid-April.